Count the Cats Again

First, here are the followups to the previous Count the Kittykins post, rather late.  As I stood up from taking the photo in the previous post, two heads popped up, and there they are. 🙂  Again, sorry for the lousy lighting — but they’re still beautiful.

I’ve had various things planned to post but it’s been too hot to have a laptop on my lap.  I think this is the first time we’ve hit triple digits at this house since we moved here in 2012.

Anyway, here’s a Count the Cats pic that spouse sent me recently:

count the cats from spouse

Good luck.

In other news, I made batch #4 of maple fudge recently (fortunately the hot days still mean cool-ish nights).  I think I got the texture right this time.  I skipped the corn syrup, but cooled the bowl of fudge on a bowl of ice before stirring, which I’d also read as advice to keep the texture consistent.  I also, um, added about three tablespoons of butter at that time.  When you already have a cup of cream in a recipe, what’s a little more dairy fat?  Result was delicious.  (Batch #3 was much like batch #2 in that it was fairly crumbly, but it also was maybe a little light on taste because I either put unsalted butter in or skipped the butter, I forget which.  I ground a little salt onto the fudge while it cooled but it wasn’t enough.)

 

One thought on “Count the Cats Again

Leave a Reply

