One More

Thematically related to the previous post, here is a real-life, naturally-occurring Hyoi Pear:

hyoi-pear-2017-01-13-172332

In-game reference:

hyoi-pear-eq022_1
http://www.piranhazone.com/index.php?language=4&page=zelda/ww&topic=equip

The pear in my fruit basket was not consumed, by the way.  I should have looked for some seagulls to feed it to.

On a side note, I first played this game, or at least the beginning of it,  in Japanese.  I bought the pear, but couldn’t read the description above.  Imagine my confusion when I tried using it and all that happened was this:

hyoi-pear-use
http://www.nintendo.com/3ds/nintendo-video/detail/HEets7rCmXzl-lrNLOWGDd99RqL-qK83

If there are no seagulls around, all he does is put the pear on his head and look utterly baffled.  Which was pretty much also my expression at seeing this.  Why is he doing that??? I didn’t play it in Japanese far enough to get somewhere that he could actually control a seagull.  Fortunately, the North America release was not long after that so I could find out what it was for.

Leave a Reply

